New Mexico EnergyPlex Conference 2017

June 27-28, 2017
Lea County Event Center
Hobbs, NM

For Information on 2018’s event, visit


The focus of the conference is energy in New Mexico and Lea County, specifically oil and gas, nuclear, and renewables. Speakers covered a wide range of topics from workforce development to growth and opportunities, and assets and resources. The conference will consisted of speakers, breakout sessions, and booths. Speakers for the event included Cabinet Secretary Ken McQueen of the State Energy, Minerals, and Natural Resources department, Aubrey Dunn, New Mexico State Land Commissioner, and Bureau of Land Management State Director, Amy Lueders.

To view presentations given at the conference, go to the Download Presentations tab to view those available.

































Agenda is subject to change.

Monday, June 26:

11:30 am             Registration for Gold Outing @ Rockwind Community Links
12:30 pm             OPTIONAL: Golf Outing @ Rockwind Community Links

Tuesday, June 27:

7:30 am               Registration/Exhibit Hall/Breakfast
8:15 am               Welcome/Introductions –

  • Tres Hicks/Pettigrew and Associates and EDCLC Chair
  • Ron Black/Chair/Lea County Commission
  • Sam Cobb/Mayor, City of Hobbs

8:30 am               PANEL: Southeastern N.M Energy Panel – Growth/Outlook/Opportunities/Challenges
Facilitator: Ron Black, Chair/Lea County Commission

  • Cliff Brunson, Chairman/NMOGA
  • Ben Shepperd, CEO PBPA
  • Tom Mullins, President IPANM

9:45 am               Oil and Gas Company Regional Executives Panel
Facilitator: Mayor Sam Cobb/City of Hobbs

  • Clay Bateman, VP New Mexico/Concho
  • Brent Gros, Asset General Manager/Chevron
  • OXY – TBD

11:00 am             BREAK – Exhibit Hall
11:30 pm             Lunch –  Exhibit Hall
Facilitator: State Representative David Gallegos
Speaker: New Mexico Energy, Minerals and Natural Resources Cabinet Secretary Ken McQueen

1:00 pm               Lea County/Communities’ Updates – Resources for the Energy Sector
Facilitator: TBD

  • Lea County
  • City of Hobbs
  • City of Lovington
  • City of Eunice
  • City of Jal
  • Town of Tatum

2:30 pm               BREAK – Exhibit Hall
3:00 pm               PANEL: “Nuclear Energy in Southeastern New Mexico”
Facilitator: Tres Hicks/Pettigrew Engineering and Chair/Economic Development Corporation of Lea County (EDCLC)

  • David Sexton/Urenco
  • TBD/Nuclear Energy Institute
  • Ed Mayer/Holtec

4:15 pm               Breakout sessions:

1. New Mexico Opportunities and Challenges for Oilfield Service Companies
Facilitator: Finn Smith/Watson Trucking and Chair-elect Economic Development Corporation of Lea County (EDCLC)

  • Ed Laurer/Lucky Service
  • Kristi Goodwin/Cavaloz Trucking

2. Customized Training for the Energy Sector
Facilitator: Gregg Fulfer/Fulfer Oil & Cattle/NM Economic Development Commission

  • Jeff McCool/New Mexico Junior College
  • Steve Sauceda/New Mexico Junior College

5:15 pm               Reception – Exhibit Hall
6:30 pm               Day Concludes

Wednesday, June 28:

7:30 am               Breakfast
8:30 am               Bureau of Land Management Update –
Facilitator: Debra Hicks/Pettigrew Engineering and Chair New Mexico State University Board of Regents (invited)
Speaker: New Mexico State Director Amy Lueders

9:15 am               PANEL: Renewable Energy Developments/Outlook
Facilitator: Mike Gallagher/Lea County Manager

  • Tom Cote/Akuo
  • Luke Mawhinney/CWR Energy
  • Chad Burris/Site Solar

10:30 am             BREAK – Exhibit Hall
11:00 am             Breakout sessions:

1. Electricity Distribution and Service
Facilitator: Rebecca Long, Vice Chair/ Lea County Commission

  • Duane Ripperger/XCEL
  • Gary Hearst/Lea County Electric Cooperative
  • Melissa Trevino /Occidental Energy Ventures Corporation

2. Energy Sector Infrastructure – Transportation, Midstream Assets and Produced Water
Facilitator: Mayor Matt White/City of Eunice

  • Corey Needham, Assistant County Manager/Lea County
  • Michael Latchem/Lucid Energy Group
  • Nathan Zaugg, P.E./Souder Miller

12:00 pm             Lunch
Introductions: State Representative Larry Scott
Speaker: New Mexico State Land Commissioner Aubrey Dunn

1:30 pm               Closing Remarks/conference concludes
2:00 pm              Optional Guided Tour




  • Hobbs, NM

Contact Person

  • Tammie Brooks
  • Sally Tomar
  • Contact Details